top of page

We Are The Temple

Updated: Aug 28, 2020

Part 1 in To Live A Holy Life Series





Good afternoon, I hope everyone is enjoying this beautiful Saturday! Growing up and still to this day, my nana would always tell us with a bright smile, "This is the day that the Lord hath made, I will rejoice and be glad in it!" Let us rejoice together as we dive into a brand new Bible study series, 'To Live A Holy Life.'


 

Born and raised in the Apostolic faith, I learned all the Bible stories from a very young age. I knew how we acted, how we looked, what we believed. I never really understood and took to heart the 'why' though.


Since I have been refilled with the Holy Ghost it has become important to me to know and be able to explain to others my 'why'. As I seek after understanding of His Word, I feel my mind continuously expanding and that seed planted in my heart growing.


I have come to the understanding that it is not about how much you read of the Bible in a day or the year, but how deeply you go. You can truly read one verse and receive so much more understanding than speed reading a few chapters just to be able to say, "I've read my Bible today!" Dive into the Word with purpose of drawing close the Lord.


Growing in Truth is vital to the Christian's spiritual health. My goal through this series is that we can grow in wisdom together. My search began here, understanding that we are His temple.

 

1 Corinthians 6:19-20 says,

19 What? know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost which is in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not your own?

20 For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God's.”

We were reborn to be walking temples of God so that the lost, broken, and hurt can find rest in the Savior’s arms.


1 Samuel 16:7 says,

But the Lord said unto Samuel, Look not on his countenance, or on the height of his stature; because I have refused him: for the Lord seeth not as man seeth; for man looketh on the outward appearance, but the Lord looketh on the heart.


Because man looks at what he can see with his physical eyes, we must portray the Lord in the way we dress, speak, and act. Holiness is not just modest clothing, it is holy conversations, a holy attitude. Not displaying yourself in a proud and sinful way, but as a child of God.


The Lord looks at our heart, signifying it must begin in there. If we don’t have a holy mindset, our flesh won’t want to be holy on the outside. We will find it hard to show holiness in our conversations, clothing, and body language without an inner holiness. When we get the mindset that I will be holy for the Lord is holy, it will become part of our nature.


Leviticus 20:26 says,

“Thus you are to be holy to Me, for I the Lord am holy; and I have set you apart from the peoples to be Mine.”


Just as the husband belongs to his wife, and the wife to her husband, we belong to the Lord-body, mind, and soul. We were not created to fit in with this world! The Lord has made us different for a reason - to be like Him, to be an example, to light the way to Him.

 

When the world says it’s not a big deal for women to wear revealing clothing, or to take the Lord’s name in vain-God says it is a big deal! He wants to draw us near to Him, but how can He do that if we are running with the world? We need to stand up boldly and say, “I am holy, because God is holy!” Not because that’s how the people at church look, talk, and dress. Not because the preacher set certain standards. Not because momma and daddy made me. But because God is holy, and I wanna be like Him!

 

How amazing for Jesus to call us His. It is a wonderful thing to be sons and daughters of the King. I pray we never forget what a blessing it is to live holy lives.

 

Subscribe to the blog today to hear when the next part of To Live A Holy Life is posted!


 

May the Lord Jesus be with you!




85 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page